That magic little pill

It has just been brought to my attention that today sees the 40th anniversary of The Pill, and I just felt like doing a little blog about it. Not much– I don’t really have time to do what I wanted to do, which is argue against the idea that the pill = women being promiscuous = bad. Maybe I’ll do that later.

For now, I just want to say that I, at least, am incredibly grateful not just for the magical pill, but for the fact that the packet has the days of the week written over each pill, meaning that you will know whether you’ve missed taking one or not. I can be rather airheaded, and it’s a saving grace at times.

So, whoever, designed the packaging for the pill, thanks a lot.

2 responses to “That magic little pill

  1. I for one would like to read your rebuttal to the somewhat blasé claim that the pill somehow makes women more promiscuous. But if you think for one second that it doesn’t allow women who already have promiscuous intentions to more effectively sleep around, then you’re dead wrong.
    Unfortunately there’s not a lot you can do about that. It’s a good idea, that’s for sure (and I’m sure the day tracker *is* a handy calendar), so it’s something we have to accept. Some women are cocksluts. We simply have to not hang around them.

  2. I too am glad for the packaging, but I appreciate it for telling me what day it is. I am not very coherent in the morning, especially if I stayed at the observatory way too late the night before.
    And the pill has a lot more uses than preventing pregnancy. And it doesn’t do anything to prevent disease transmission.

Leave a Reply

